Manor House Kurzen Trechow

The appearance of the village Kurzen Trechow, a place on the edge of the Mecklenburg Lake District, is dominated by the former moated castle which was presumably built between 1150 and 1250.




Due to an inheritance in the mid 14th century the castle went from the Trechow family to the von Maltzan family who sold it in 1641 to Hans Albrecht von Plüskow. In 1785 an extension was built on to the south east wing of the castle at the same time the moat was filled in. Further refurbishment work took place around 1800. The stair tower was demolished, the roof was altered, the granite cuboids were rendered, and the height of the windows was adapted to the altered height of the rooms inside. Several rooms received wall paintings created by Italian artists.

In 1841 Friedrich von Oertzen acquires the estate, however six years later Anna von Plessen was the owner. At the beginning of the 20th century and in 1936 there were again modifications to the building to adapt to modern needs.

After the von Plessen family fled in 1945 the manor house was used as a kindergarten and a pub, it also  accommodated local communal offices.

In 2005 descendants of the von Plessen family redeemed the manor house, since then it has been cautiously renovated. For some years now concerts of the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival have taken place here - a very special experience.

For Further Information: www.gut-trechow.de


Keywords: