Manor House Damshagen

Damshagen is located in Klützer Winkel, between Grevelsmühlen and Klütz. The place was documented for the first time in the Ratzeburg tithe register as Thomashagen.




Starting in the 14th century, the property became the ancestral seat of the von Plessen family. The family had built a half-timbered building in the 17th century at the former site of an old castle, but it was removed in 1914. The current manor house was built in 1913 south of the farmhouse. It is a plastered brick building on a rubble masonry with a column portal. The von Plessen family was expropriated in 1945, following the land reform, and expelled from Damshagen.

From then on, the manor house served as a residential building with a restaurant and a cultural center. After the political turn, the municipality sold the manor house and, thus, brought an end to the traditional blend of manor and farming even though the Plessen family was interested in reacquiring the property. The manor house, which remained vacant for many years, has been refurbished in recent years.

The preserved farm buildings, the day-laborer houses, the St. Thomas church, and a brick building that was built towards the end of the 13th century are some of the phenomenal structures that are left of the property.


Keywords: