Bristow was documented for the first time in 1297. The manor house burnt down in 1919. The von Bassewitz family moved into the farmhouses thereafter, which were converted into residential buildings.
The church is one of the first village churches built after the Reunification. It has a unique Renaissance altar that is still in the original color. The pulpit and organ are also real eye-catchers.
The Renaissance church of Bristow e.V. has earned its reputation with its objective to preserve and restore the village church.
The property was owned by the von Hahn family from 1352 to 1815. In 1845, the property was bought by the then Count von Bassewitz-Levetzow. He expanded the estate adding the coach house in 1852, a rubblestone barn, a horse pond in 1855, farmhouses in 1865, a horse stable in 1866, and a store in 1868. The property remained in the possession of the von Bassewitz family until the expropriation in 1945. Several buildings have been preserved. These include the poultry house that was built in 1891. One of its unique features is the funeral chapel from 1874. This is located next to the nearby lake and is where members of the von Bassewitz family are buried.